πŸ™ˆ Processing the Indie Masterminds reviews

Updates from The Indie Creator | Issue #44

You know this is the last week of the pilot program of indie masterminds.

So naturally I asked every member for an honest review. And folks were kind of enough to give some great reviews.

But something interesting happened. Raghu is one of the members in the program, and he was asked by someone else if the program was good enough or not.

In public.

On Twitter πŸ™ˆ

There was a 6 hour difference between the question and Raghu's answer. My heart was beating so hard for those 6 hours.

It's a strange feeling - your product being scrutinized in public.

Those 6 hours were very long for me.

Thankfully Raghu ended up writing a 5 tweet thread about his experience, and it was the best testimonial I could possibly get 🀩

Do read it below -

Before I talk more about the reviews, just a quick announcement -

Registrations for the August Masterminds close in a couple of days. If you want in, make sure to join soon.

Also, I like to raise prices as I get more sales, but at any point, this link will get you the best deal πŸ‘‡

You will find the program beneficial if you're a -

  • Content Entrepreneur

  • Freelance/Agency/Consultant

  • SaaS founder

And also, there's a 100% money back guarantee, so you've got nothing to lose. If you don't find value in 4 weeks, I'll refund you everything. (I don't want to take money from someone if they don't find value in my product)

You will find more details about the program on the landing page, or in this Indie Hackers post I made today.

Now, back to the reviews.

I got a bunch of reviews from the members this week. And while I expected positive reviews in general, what surprised me was that how almost everyone repeated my own role in their hot seats.

This may sound strange, but when I had envisioned the program, I had thought of myself just as a facilitator who will remain behind the scenes.

Just there to manage the logistics and not more - A mere fly on the wall.

But during the hot seat calls I found myself sharing more and more of my own insights. Lessons from my own journey as well from the journeys of 50+ solopreneurs I've deeply researched so far.

And the members found those lessons really useful.

Now that I think about it, it's kind of obvious. It's my product, so naturally my insights will play a substantial role in it.

I guess maybe till last month I was too close to my own product to realize that this was going to happen.

But this week as I took a step back and reflected on my role I could see it clearly.

And after getting the reviews, it's become obvious that I am an active part of everyone's mastermind.

Which is a great feeling tbh πŸ˜„

I feel fortunate to be able to play a small part in someone's journey πŸ™

Loved this message from Raghu -

Yay!! I'm an asset, not just a fly on the wall πŸ˜…

And a similar sentiment repeated in the reviews from Darren, Khaled and Sathya.

Khaled's review is special because I think he's just onboarded a rocket ship πŸš€

His SaaS product went from $0 to $200 MRR within 19 days of his hot seat call with the mastermind group -

I've seen his product from up close, I think it's really special, he's going to be making big moves very soon.

So happy for him πŸ˜„

Moving on...

✍️ Pro Tip of the week

I've been called a Content Machine in the past πŸ˜…

I produce a lot of tweets, threads, blog posts every week. I send out 3 newsletters every week.

I even write long 3000+ word playbooks.

That's a lot of content.

I'm able to do this because I have a system in place for content creation.

My process goes something like this -

  • 1. Consume

  • 2. Capture

  • 3. Create

  • 4. Iterate

I read/listen/watch a ton of great content on a wide range of topics all the time.

Take notes on them.

Sometimes in Notion, sometimes in a WhatsApp group with myself, or sometimes in a physical diary.

Then I create content focused on my core topics.

And I track my best performing posts and iterate on them over time.

I've found this system to work well for me.

You know when you start out as a writer initially, you think you will write when inspiration strikes.

And it works well for 3 days but then on the 4th day you feel exhausted. Unable to write a single word, and you hate yourself for every wanting to become a writer πŸ˜…

Well, having a system gets you to write even on those hard days.

So make sure you build a system for yourself. You don't need a second brain, but you do need a system if you want to succeed as a creator online.

I tweeted this out yesterday and people seemed to like it.

Do let me know what you think of it.

Just hit reply.

πŸ‘‹ Bottomline

These were my best performing tweets from last week -

Product pricing is a nebulous topic. Something that I struggle with all the time. So I asked people how they approached it. Some great answers here -

Crowdsourced movie recommendations. I now have an amazing database of movies to checkout the next time I'm looking for it. It's under this tweet -

I wrote an article about Tweet Hunter, about how it became a Million Dollar startups. Real in-depth analysis of it's success.

Thank you for reading πŸ™

That's my time this week. See you next week πŸ‘‹

Important note:

if you’ve not been having fun here, please consider unsubscribing.

I don’t mind.

No hard feelings.

I’d rather you unsubscribe than not open the newsletter.

But if you do enjoy it.

Please do me a favor, please ask one of your friends to subscribe.

I rely on word of mouth to grow this newsletter.

It would mean a lot to meπŸ™

Cheers