• The Indie Creator
  • Posts
  • Indie MBA updates, how to show your work, pro tips and a lot more...

Indie MBA updates, how to show your work, pro tips and a lot more...

πŸš€ Updates from The Indie Creator | Issue #38

Hey there πŸ‘‹

Hope you're good.

Before we get started, I have a HUGE announcement to make today.

You know If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last 10 months being a solopreneur, it’s that to build a business, you may not need a degree, but you still need guidance and support.

That's where the idea of Indie MBA was started.

The first thing as part of Indie MBA is business lessons from domain experts.

And we've had 2 amazing sessions so far.

The 3rd one is scheduled this week.

This is big!

It's with one of my heroes - Arvid Kahl.

How to be an embedded entrepreneur with Arvid Kahl - Indie MBA

If you're serious about your bootstrapped business, or about learning the embedded approach to entrepreneurship, you don't want to miss this virtual event.

As of latest count, 62 people have already signed up, not many seats left now, I think I will close registrations at 75.

Because after a point, managing a Zoom call can get difficult 🀷

So if you want in, make sure to register fast πŸ‘‡

Now, let's get started πŸ‘‡

πŸ™‹β€β™‚οΈ1 Question Interviews

Today's 1 question interview is with...

ME.

Yes πŸ˜€

Actually I did an AMA session with the Hypefury Discord community a couple of days ago, and answered a bunch of very interesting questions around building an audience and a business off Twitter.

I thought I had to share at least 1 answer with you.

Will write a thread/blog post with all the questions and answers next week. For now, let's see today's question:

Ayush

Question to me:

"How do you go about building engagement from zero? People seem to be okay with retweeting and liking, but getting replies is tough."

My Answer:

Yes, it's hard, when you're absolutely at 0, best to be the "engager" to other people than expect engagement from them. You won't get much engagement up until 200-300 followers. Then you can use 3 strategies to get engagement:

1. Engage with similar sized accounts everyday, on a similar journey. They will engage back soon enough and you will make friends.

2. DM everyone who follows you and strike up a conversation. Early on it's easy to do, once you cross 1000 followers it will become very hard. But the network you build early on will be around you forever. And those people will start to engage with you.

Hope you liked the answer, if there's anything specific you need answered, just hit reply :)

πŸ¦‰ Update on the Twitter Tips Guide

So last week, I spoke about a crisp, short actionable guide on Twitter growth.

And I asked people to share their biggest pains around growing on Twitter. I've got some very interesting answers so far.

The guide is getting better because of your answers πŸ€—

I think I will be able to launch it in a couple of weeks.

It will be free to everyone who fills out this form and shares their biggest pain on Twitter.

So make sure you don't miss out πŸ‘‡

🎨 Show Your Work

I wrote a blog post about Austin Kleon's book Show Your Work.

It is the original book about building in public, much before it was a trend.

Consider this post a summary/notes/lessons from the book. Plus examples of how I am applying it in my own Twitter journey.

Enjoy -

9 Lessons from Austin Kleon's Show Your Work

Now, onto some interesting nuggets from last week πŸ‘‡

πŸ’ŽInteresting Nuggets

It's so damn hard to be a full time creator.

I feel like I'm learning new skills everyday, and yet there are so many more skills I need to learnπŸ˜…

Jay describes it well:

Every creator needs a system.

Alex knows:

If you're looking to write well on Twitter, and build a solid content creation system, then do check out my Twitter writing crash course.

You can build a solid system to push out quality content in just 30 minutes a day.

You never know what will work.

Might as well take a bet.

That's the best chance you can give to yourself.

Listen to Cole:

✍️ Pro Tip of the week

Respond to larger accounts.

That's kinda obvious to everyone by now.

But more importantly, respond with related tweets/links that add to the conversation.

This week I replied to a tweet from Daniel Vassallo, and got almost 20 followers from that single reply.

Reason?

I had written a similar tweet before, and I just plugged that into the reply, it didn't look self promotional because it was so on point.

Check it out:

πŸ‘‹ Bottomline

My top 3 tweets of last week:

Shared an article about Arvid Kahl:

4 Ways of building products/services:

We have to be mindful of our consumption habits:

That's my time this week. See you next week πŸ‘‹

Important note:

if you’ve not been having fun here, please consider unsubscribing.

I don’t mind.

No hard feelings.

I’d rather you unsubscribe than not open the newsletter.

But if you do enjoy it.

Please do me a favor, please ask one of your friends to subscribe.

It would mean a lot to meπŸ™

Cheers,