The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #6

Hey Folks👋

Hope you’re doing good.

Welcome to your weekly dose of insights and ideas to crush it in the creator economy.

Today we look at -

  • Crucial insight for indie creators.

  • Benefits of building in public.

  • The story of Hypefury - the Twitter growth tool.

  • And my best Tweet of the week.

All in less than 3 minutes.

But first, if you enjoy reading this newsletter, please share it with one person who will also find value in it, thanks🙏

Now, let’s Go👇

Kevon's Insight🤗

As a creator, your uniqueness will be your biggest value prop. Kevon Cheung knows this better than anyone else.

I have massive respect for what he is doing with his community - Public Lab, and his upcoming course - Showing Up Right!

Listen to Kevon, figure out what makes you "You", it's how the world works -

Benefits of building in public

I'm setting up a Ghost based site for my other newsletter - Listen Up IH.

I've tried other platforms like Wordpress, Substack and Revue before.

So this Friday I wrote a thread listing down the pros and cons of all the platforms I've tried so far.

Turns out people loved it, and some people even suggested a couple of other platforms to try out.

This is the biggest benefit of building in public.

You share your learnings with community and the community comes around to help you out in your goals.

Whatever you're building, make sure you build in public, that's the most authentic way to have a presence on Twitter.

Here's the thread btw -

The Story of Hypefury🦅

Hypefury is a Twitter growth tool. I've used it before to schedule Tweets and threads. I think it's fantastic.

This week I wrote a piece about its founders - Samy Dindane and Yannick Veys.

It's a classic indie maker/creator story.

They started it to address just one pain point, built the MVP in 3 days and put it in hands of people.

Got feedback, improved, doubled down on growth and in two years they are doing more than $23K in monthly recurring revenue.

Read on -

  • Ideas + Insights + Inspiration

  • Growth channels

  • Related trends and opportunities you can capitalize on📈

Listen Up! IH - Episode 27 "Keep your ears and eyes open, because there are opportunities everywhere." 👆 That's Samy Dindane's advice for aspiring Indi...

Looking Back👀

My best tweet of the week -

I wrote a thread about an earlier blog post I had written about Rosie Sherry and community building.

3 lessons from this -

  1. Repurpose old content as threads.

  2. When you add value and speak about influential people, they will amplify your voice (thanks Rosie🙏)

  3. Leverage ongoing trends and hashtags, in this case it was the #100DaysOfCommunity.

I had something interesting to add to the convo, I had already written about it before, so I just reused it.

And people liked it.

It's a win-win🤗

I want to keep doing that week in, week out.

Time's Up⌚

That’s it I guess, that’s my 3 minutes.

Let me know what you thought of this issue.

And also what kind of content would you like to see more of in the future?

Just hit reply🤗

And if you liked this issue, please forward it to one friend and ask them to subscribe.

I want to reach more people like you🤗

Some Housekeeping🧹

I’d appreciate the warmth and coziness of your primary inbox

Make sure you move me there.

Ciao

Ayush