The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #3

Hey Folks👋

Hope you’re having an awesome weekend.

Welcome to your weekly dose of insights to crush it in the creator economy🎨

Today's issue is about creators who are just getting started.

We will look at -

  1. A Video on how to start out as a creator in 2021

  2. A Thread on how to define your goals

  3. A Tweet about how to build an audience

  4. A Visual about what a time to be alive this is

  5. My cheat sheet of 25 Twitter prompts and templates

And a look back at my best Tweet of the week.

And it won’t take more than 3 minutes⏲

So let's go🔥🔥🔥

Ali Abdaal's Advice🤗

Ali Abdaal is one of my favorite indie creators.

He is a very successful productivity YouTuber.

He made a video about how will he start if he lost everything today - including his audience.

His approach?

  • Learn a skill

  • Work for free permissionlessly

  • Turn it into a paid gig

  • Productize the service

  • Build products

And do it all while sharing his journey on YT or Twitter.

#BuildInPublic right!

I am doing a version of this myself, and I think this is the best approach you can take when you're starting out.

Watch the video, listen to the great man -

How to define your goals🎯

As a creator, what is your goal?

Is to create content?

That's not a goal, that's the method.

You need to figure out your goal and work backwards.

Read master newsletter writer Josh Spector explain in this short thread -

My goal - help other indie creators build a presence on Twitter.

Curate timeless wisdom that helps all of us get clients, productize our services and build products that generate passive income.💸

How to grow📈

Matthew Kobach has very practical advice on how to start and grow on Twitter -

What a time to be alive🤩

2021 is perhaps the best time to be an indie creator.

The creator economy is just taking off, and rest of the economy is just realizing this.

And everyone wants a piece of the pie🍰

Take a look at this -

25 Tweet prompts and templates

Right, last week I posted this -

And I got countless DMs and replies asking for this document.

Well, this week I tidied it up a bit and shared it with the folks who asked.

You can grab it here from my Notion -

Hey, I am Ayush 👋

Hope it helps🤗

Looking Back🔙

My best tweet of the week?

This one -

Almost got 2k impressions with this one, which is not very common for an account my size.

It worked because -

  • Everyone knows the value of books

  • Everyone wants to read more books

  • Everyone realizes most modern books can be just blogs or podcasts🤷‍♂️

Am I right!

I think its a relatable Tweet. Tell me if you can think of some other reason.

I am stopping the prediction thing now. I am not going to share an upcoming Tweet today, coz I think I jinx them, the ones I share here are the worst performing ones🙈

Anyways!

I'll go now.

Bye👋

Hope you found value, let me know!

Important Housekeeping🧹

I’d appreciate the warmth and coziness of your primary inbox😇

Make sure you move me there.

Cheers,

Ayush