The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #28

Hey there👋

This is Ayush🙏

How’s it going?

How was last week? Hope you’re doing good.

Welcome to The Indie Creator issue #28.

Quick update: This is a weekly newsletter where I expand on some of my best tweets of the week and share my journey of trying to make a living as an independent creator off Twitter.

And it doesn't take more than 3 minutes 😀

Today I'm talking about:

  • The Writing course I launched this week.

  • How I set up the funnel.

  • Some raw numbers from the launch.

  • Weekly recommendations.

Now let's go 👇

Make Money with Words

So writing has been at the base of my solo business for almost a year now. I use it in different ways as a:

  • Product consultant

  • Freelance writer

  • Info product maker

  • Copywriter

  • Ghost Tweeter

It's my fundamental skill.

I wanted to capture my knowledge around writing in a course or an e-book.

With that intention, I made a broad outline of the course and Tweeted about it this week:

How the funnel was set up

My biggest challenge with every product launch so far on Twitter has been getting people to click on the link in the launch tweets and get them to the landing page.

The algorithm penalizes tweets or threads with links.

Plus people feel it's too much of a pain going off the platform for something they won't need.

That's why I kept the starting price at 0 for the initial seats.

Plus I asked interested folks to respond with a ✍️

Then I would DM them the link to the product page, and then they can make a choice from there.

The launch tweet made it a no-brainer for anyone to show interest and reply.

This helped me get the maximum possible eyeballs on the landing page. After that, it was a matter of how good/bad the offer was.

Also, as I got some validation, as people were buying, I kept raising the prices.

At the time of writing, I've made $200+ in pre-sales already. And have started working on it.

The price will vary depending on when you're reading this, you can check out the latest price here -

2x your earning potential in 90 minutes.Writing is the most impactful skill on the internet today.In this course, you will learn the exact frameworks and techniques that will propel your writing career and help you build a business around this skill.✅ 5 Sold at 0$✅ 5 Sold at $1✅ 5 Sold at $2✅ 5 Sold at $3✅ 13 Sold at $5✅ 6 Sold at $7✅ 10 Sold at $9🚀 Current Price: $10High-quality writers are as rare as diamonds 💎In 2022, every product, every website, every business needs top writers to run its content engine. Yet, 99% of the writing on the internet is fluff. It has no impact, it serves no purpose.It's written by people churning out content just for the sake of filling web pages. It means nothing.This course will help you become the top 1% of writers on the internet. It will help you write for a purpose.It will help you write for impact.It will help you spread your ideas to the world in your own unique voice.And most of all, it will help you make money with your writing. During the presale period, it's available for a massive discount.There's no reason to miss it.Just hit the "I want this button" and get the course.The course will be released on 17th April 2022.After the purchase, you will be redirected to a form where you can specify your preference for receiving the e-book or video course first.Please DM me on Twitter if you have any questions about the course.Cheers,AyushPS: if you're not satisfied with the content, you get your money back. No questions asked.

Some Raw numbers

For 6 hours after the launch Tweet I was manually DMing links to everyone.

I wrote personalized messages to everyone and then observed as they went to the website and made the purchase or not.

It allowed me to be part of the funnel and learn from it up close. It also gave me a sense of the purchasing power of my audience.

I knew there are tools that would have allowed me to automate this process, but I think doing it manually was worth it.

After 6 hours, I was too tired and sleepy, so I just fixed 1 price and dropped the link in the replies.

Numbers:

  • The launch tweet has got 30k+ impressions (thank you all my friends who RTed 🙏)

  • It received 90+ replies before I dropped the link. I DMed everyone till then😅

  • The Tweet with the link has received 95 clicks.

  • The landing page has received 394 views.

  • There have been 49 sales totaling $247.

  • Overall conversion rate of 12.4%.

  • It started with 100% (0bv) and gradually came down as the price increased.

  • I expect it to flatten out further in the coming days.

If you're planning to launch a product on Twitter, these numbers might help you get a sense of what to expect.

(Feel free to DM me if you're looking for ideas or advice around launching products on Twitter, I've had my fair share of successes and failures😅)

This gives me enough validation to actually start working on the product. I have real money from people who want to learn what I want to teach, wow 🤩

Now it's time for me to get to work and build this thing out.

(I finished the 1st section today😀)

If you're interested, you can grab the course here.

Weekly reading recommendations.

Stuff I’m consuming:

It's a fantastic NL that curates great content around the creator economy.

Last week I found this great article from Josh Spector through the Idea Economy Newsletter

Want to know how to monetize your expertise? These six questions will help you figure out how to create value for customers and yourself.

Stuff I created recently:

A powerful network or an engaged audience is vital for success as an Indie Hacker. Otherwise, it can be hard to get eyeballs and feedback on your project. Especially in the early days. A network helps you understand the problems of the users and build the right product from the

Important Information

That’s my 3 minutes with you today, will let you go now. But one request -

If you’ve not been having fun with this newsletter, please consider unsubscribing.

I don’t mind.

No hard feelings.

I’d rather you unsubscribe than not open the newsletter.

But if you do enjoy it.

Please do me a favor, please ask one of your friends to subscribe.

It would mean a lot to me🙏

And if you’re new, just hit reply and tell me what’s the biggest challenge you’re facing this year?

I might have a personalized recommendation for you 🤗

Cheers,

Ayush

PS: If you've read this far, and you're interested in getting the writing course for a discount, just hit reply to this email. 😀