The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #23

Hey there👋

This is Ayush, that dude from Twitter🙏

How’s it going?

How was last week? Hope you’re doing good.

Welcome to The Indie Creator issue #23.

Today we’re talking about -

  • A simple writing formula from David Perell.

  • The story of my churned client for Tweet For Me

  • My best Tweet of the week.

  • Weekly Recommendations.

All in 3 minutes.

Let’s go👇

A simple writing formula

This is crucial, and something that I've learned only by doing and failing for many years of writing online.

Sometimes my hooks work, sometimes they don't.

But the 3 yes's framework is on point, and try to pull it off every time.

Listen to David:

The story of my churned client

So one of top clients for TweetForMe churned this week.

It was a painful experience. He was on the $997/month plan.

But I tried to make the best of a bad situation. And in the end I think things worked out well for the long term. 🤞

I explained it in this thread, do read if you haven't already:

My Best Tweet of the week👀

After a brief low period, last week was back to normal levels for me.

A bunch of Tweets did well, going well past 5000 impressions.

This one was the best:

With 9000+ impressions and a 4% engagement rate. I think the audience as well as the algorithm everybody liked it.

Which is cool.

The next best one was my thread about losing a client.

And 3rd best was about audience building.

So this tells me that 3 types of content are working:

  1. Business/Product ideas and insights

  2. My personal story - wins and losses in this crazy adventure of making a living as an indie creator.

  3. Audience building.

Will try to double down on these 3 niches.

Weekly Recommendations:

Stuff I'm consuming:

Stuff I created recently:

Confirmation Bias basics:

What can you do about it? | Wisdom Letter #128 | Confirmation Bias | It takes conscious effort to change our minds with facts.The reason we find it difficult to change our opinions is because of Confirmation bias.

A thread about 5 free Twitter tools:

Important Information

That’s my 3 minutes with you today, will let you go now. But one request -

If you’ve not been having fun with this newsletter, please consider unsubscribing.

I don’t mind.

No hard feelings.

I’d rather you unsubscribe than not open the newsletter.

But if you do enjoy it.

Please do me a favor, please ask one of your friends to subscribe.

It would mean a lot to me🙏

Cheers,

Ayush