The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #12

Hey there👋

What’s up!

Hope you’re doing good.

Testing out different times of the week for this newsletter, last week I sent it out on Wednesday out of compulsion, and the open rates jumped up.

So I am going to play around with the time and day a bit.

If you write a newsletter, make sure you do this, don't listen to the "experts", find out what works for YOU.

Anywhoo, today we're talking about -

  • Core creator concepts

  • A simple way to grow on Twitter

  • The value of side projects

  • And my best Tweet of the week!

But first, if you’re new here, make sure you subscribe to the newsletter, so you can find me next week in your inbox🤗

Now, let’s go👇

Core Creator Concepts😇

I'm a big fan of Josh Spector. He's a writer, copywriter, email marketer.

Most of all, he's an indie creator.

He is an expert in newsletters but his insights work across domains and industries.

He has a long running thread of core concepts for creators to build their audience and business.

I've devoured the thread multiple times, I think you'll love it

Couple of my favorite Tweets from it -

There are 28 Tweets in there, go through each one -

Indie Grow💹

All of us need inspiration to stay active on Twitter, especially if we're not Tweeting often and just starting out.

Engaging in interesting conversations is a good way to keep up with our Tweeting goals.

My friend Hua started a newsletter a few weeks back, where she shares 3 Tweets worth engaging with every day.

Do check it out -

The Value of Side Projects💪

This week I wrote a short post about the importance of doing side projects.

If you're a tinkerer like me I think you'll realize how important they are. Almost everything I do these days is dabble in various side projects.

Broadly, I see 3 main benefits -

  1. Creative Expression 

  2. Learning to Ship

  3. Increasing the surface area of serendipity

Read the whole post as I explain my thesis -

#114

My Best Tweet of the week👀

This one got 1800 impressions with a 5% engagement rate, so it was cool -

I like Tweets that get more replies than likes or RTs, it means I'm able to generate interesting conversations and force people to think.

That's my north star metric!

Also, regarding the Tweet, almost everyone agreed 3 - 1 -2, and had interesting insights to share for their answers. Do check them out.

Time's Up⌚

That’s my 3 minutes with you this week.

See you next week.

Bye🙋‍♂️

Some Housekeeping🧹

Make sure you move me your primary inbox. That’s the ideal place for newsletters you’ve subscribed to.

Anywhere else is really pointless, might as well unsubscribe🤷‍♂️

Ciao

Ayush