🎨 The Indie Creator - Issue #1

Welcome and Thank You🙏

Hey 👋

I'm extremely humbled that you signed up to this newsletter even before the first issue was published.

I hope I can live up to your expectations.

This newsletter is about indie creators and how they are using Twitter as their primary platform to have a presence.

I've divided it into sections you can easily skim within seconds.

But real learning happens when you go deep down rabbit holes and wrestle with the ideas yourself.

So make sure you do that.

Now, I've got you for 3 minutes, let's go🚀🚀🚀

Nicolas Cole's Career

Cole is one of my favorite indie creators.

His Twitter threads are pure gold.

Do check it out this thread about his journey.

It highlights the depth and breadth of a successful creator's career👇

Some Twitter Advice

If you're new to Twitter, this is probably the best advice you can get.

I've made some fantastic friends on Twitter, learned a lot from them, and even collaborated with them.

And Twitter did change my life😇

Listen to Andrew👇

Content Creation🎨

Creativity is hard, and it takes a ton of effort to put out great content.

The best approach is to start creating a lot and iterate along the way.

Quality comes from Quantity.

This visual from Justin captures the ideas beautifully👇

I went viral this week🔥🔥🔥

I legit went viral this week.

I wrote a thread about quitting my full time job.

People rallied around with support and love💜

The first tweet has more than 123,000 impressions at the time of writing.

And I've received dozens of collaboration offers in DMs.

Feel humbled and blessed🙏

I've written more than 50-60 threads in the last 6 months, this one was the most successful.

3 quick reasons why I think it worked -

  1. It was told as the hero's journey, the oldest storytelling technique in the world. Most iconic stories use it

  2. It was authentic and deeply personal.

  3. I had a small group of trusted friends who came around for support.

Point 1 and 2 don't work without point 3.

That's why, if you are new, focus on making friends on Twitter first.

And of course, it's hard to predict which one of such threads will work, so it's best to create many🤷‍♂️

Here it goes👇

The Week Ahead👀

I schedule most of my Tweets for the week in advance.

I am going to write them and add them to a queue right after this newsletter goes out.

Trying out an experiment here.

I am going to share one of the Tweets from my drafts today, and will share its results next week.

Real numbers and brief analysis of why it worked or didn't work.

It will probably give you and me an idea of what can or cannot work on the platform.

So here it goes -

"We live in a world with abundance of information but scarcity of insight.

That's a huge arbitrage opportunity.

Whatever be your domain, find ways to transform information into insight💡"

Keep an eye out for this one in your feed, and I'll share it's results next week.

Time's Up⌚

That's my 3 minutes with you this week.

Do let me know what you think.

This newsletter is an experiment and I will keep iterating with the format and content to make it better.

Click on the thumbs up or down icon below.

And if you have minute, would love a response.

Just hit reply🤗

See you next week👋

Some Housekeeping🧹

I'd appreciate the warmth and coziness of your primary inbox😇

Make sure you move me there.

Cheers,

And thanks again 🙏

Ayush