• The Indie Creator
  • Posts
  • ✊ Educating myself, shipping product and the anxiety of recurring costs

✊ Educating myself, shipping product and the anxiety of recurring costs

Updates from The Indie Creator | Issue #32

Hey there 👋

First off, sorry I didn't send the email last week.

I was looking to switch platforms, and Revue made it hard to export the subscribers list. Once I got the list, they made it hard to automatically add new subscribers to the new platform (beehiiv)

Took me a couple of days to sort things out. 

But then the deadline for my writing course started to loom large, so I spent most of my time there.

I did release the course last night, now waiting for responses from the students🤞

I am biased but I think it's top notch 🙈

  • 7 hours of video

  • 166 slides

  • 104 page e-book

  • Detailed walkthroughs and lessons on every type of writing we have to do in 2022.

  • Including blog posts, newsletters, Twitter threads, landing pages, you name it!

  • Breakdowns of Copywriting and Storytelling principles and how we can apply them.

  • Practical techniques to find your unique writing voice.

  • How to build a regular writing habit.

  • And how to never suffer from writer's block ever again.

  • 29 Exercises for students to put all the theory into practice.

  • Lifetime Community Access to get feedback and support.

As 1 of the students said, it surprised them how packed the course is.😅

My wife also helped me make a swanky cover for the course:

Make Money With Words Course Cover

Looks neat, doesn't it?

(She wants 20% commission on every sale now 😅)

Shipping Product and Self Education

I feel a sense of emptiness now since shipping the product.

It had consumed me for the last 6 weeks. It's all I could think about during this period. And now that I'm done I'm not sure how to proceed.

I'm taking a little breather before jumping into building my next product. 

Want to spend this time educating myself. Few ways I'm doing that:

  • Joined Daniel Vassallo's Small bets community, and it feels like a university I always wished for.

  • Finishing off Josh Spector's 2nd Skill session, it's about content curation. The first one helped me write my most successful blog post ever. I hope the 2nd one allows me to improve my curation game.

  • Want to learn Google Ads, will try out the free stuff on YouTube, if it doesn't work then will buy a paid course. Let's see.

I'm also going to build more systems and processes around all the work I do.

Right now all of it feels like I make a long To-Do list every week and just focus on 1 item after another.

I need more processes.

Recurring Costs

As I think of building processes, I realize that I will have to pay for software.

I realized I end up benefiting the most from the products I pay for, be it knowledge products or software products.

So free stuff isn't going to be as effective for me.

Software products I already pay for:

  • Zlappo for Tweet scheduling

  • Jasper for AI copywriting

  • Llama Life for daily productivity

  • Ghost for my newsletter Listen Up IH. (It reached $13 MRR today 😅)

  • Plausible for analytics.

  • Carrd for Landing Pages

I love these products, gain a lot from them, but the costs do add up.

Products I am looking to spend money on:

  • Course hosting + Email marketing platform (Podia most probably)

  • Blogging platform (Confused between Feather.is and Superblog.ai, both built by Indie Hacker friends)

  • Website builder (To start working on the job board I've been meaning to start)

I don't want to spend too much money on tools. But I know that they also give me the best chance of generating predictable revenue.

Let's see, will take things 1 at a time. 

Moving on...

My best Tweets

Controversial opinions always get interesting conversations going. I will write an essay about these predictions soon:

Some incredible product pitches here:

I'm particularly proud of this thread:

Extremely humbled that my writing course crossed $500 in sales:

Doing research for a post I'm writing: "First100 users playbook".

Some great answers here:

Recommended Reading

Elon Actually Bought Twitter:

Jon Yongfook's reflection on reaching $36K MRR:

This is what happens when freelancers take on too much work:

Bottomline

That's it for this week.  See you next week 👋

Important note:

I’m trying out a new format for this newsletter. Going deeper into the ups and downs of my journey.

Do let me know what you think.

Just hit reply on any of these emails.

This will give me a better sense of the direction that I should take with this newsletter

And if you’ve not been having fun here, please consider unsubscribing.

I don’t mind.

No hard feelings.

I’d rather you unsubscribe than not open the newsletter.

But if you do enjoy it.

Please do me a favor, please ask one of your friends to subscribe.

It would mean a lot to me🙏

Cheers,

Ayush