• The Indie Creator
  • Posts
  • Building Products vs Offering Services | The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #31

Building Products vs Offering Services | The Indie Creator🎨 - Issue #31

So here's the thing.

  • You can either rent your time to make money in the present.

  • Or you can spend it building assets that make you money in the future.

This is the essential difference between a service business and a product business.

I've found some success running service businesses. As a part-time product manager and a ghostwriter.

But I've not found a lot of success with product businesses.

Over the last couple of weeks I've had to say no to a bunch of clients just to find time.

I need time to work on products.

Otherwise I would continue to run on a never ending treadmill of serving clients.

I have a fair enough runway of savings, so I don't need to worry about money right now.

Also I do have a few long time clients that I love working with 💜

But now I'm spending most of my time in building products.

The first one of which is a course about online writing.

It's called Make Money with Words: Find your voice and monetize your writing in 2022.

It contains everything I know about how to write well on the internet.

I shipped the e-book version of it last night.

Working on the video course now, it will be launched in 2 weeks time.

And I'm also starting a community of writers interested in growing together.

As a subscriber of this newsletter, I want to give you a special deal.

For the next 24 hours you can grab the complete bundle for less than $10.

Yea, the price is so low because I'm still in the building phase. It will go up gradually.

But if you want to take advantage of the low price right now, then follow this link.

There's a 100% money back guarantee so you've got nothing to lose if you don't like the content.

But I'm sure you will love the course. Everyone who's read it so far has loved it.

Check the screenshots on this page.

If you have doubts, feel free to reach out to me.

Now, let's move on to some of my best Tweets of last week.

My love for Emojis 😅

I love including emojis in my Tweets whenever I can. I think they help me get my point across better. Especially on a platform like Twitter.

A lot of people seem to agree with me 😄

That tweet is just 1 day old and it's got 5453 impressions at 2.7% engagement rate.

The Arvid Kahl effect

Memes work.

Sometimes.

I've found success with them in the past.

But not with every meme. Still, I like to post one every couple of days or so.

People enjoyed this one a lot. If you're a fan of Arvid like I am then you will have fun here 🤣

That one got 4025 impressions at a 4.2% engagement rate.

Money or Followers 🤔

What would you rather have?

  • 100K Followers

  • 100K Dollars

This is a classic question that most people who are trying to build an audience struggle with.

It's a great thought experiment to figure out our priorities.

It led to plenty of interesting conversations. Do check them out:

That tweet got 3000 impressions at 6.2% engagement rate.

Lesson: Want better engagement? Ask good questions 🤷

Weekly Recommendations.

Stuff I’m consuming:

Elon Musk's Ted interview.

The dude is just so cool. Plus he has big plans for Twitter 🤣

Stuff I created recently:

A post about founders who succeeded while scratching their own itch:

Scratching your own itch can be a great way to generate business ideas. But only if you can find a critical mass of people who face the same problems as you face. And they are willing to pay money for the problem to be solved. When you’re starting out,

Also, this post Elon buying Twitter:

Wisdom Letter #137 | The real conversation we should be having, but are not.

Important Information

That’s my time with you today.

I’m trying out a new format for this newsletter. Going deeper into the ups and downs of my journey.

Do let me know what you think.

Just hit the thumbs up/down button at the bottom of this email.

Or hit reply and share your thoughts.

This will give me a better sense of the direction that I should take with this newsletter.

And if you’ve not been having fun here, please consider unsubscribing.

I don’t mind.

No hard feelings.

I’d rather you unsubscribe than not open the newsletter.

But if you do enjoy it.

Please do me a favor, please ask one of your friends to subscribe.

It would mean a lot to me🙏

Cheers,

Ayush